N E W S F E E D S >>>

Caithness News Bulletins

Election 2003 Index   Caithness.org News Index

Front Page Archives

  Scottish Elections 1 May 2003 - Timetable In The Highlands


The elections for the Scottish Parliament and The Highland Council elections, being held on Thursday 1 May 2003, will be called by the Returning Officer, Arthur McCourt, Chief Executive of The Highland Council, on Thursday 20 March 2003. This is the day from which nomination papers are available for candidates.

There are two elements to the Scottish Parliament elections. In Highland, a poll is to be held for a member to serve the constituencies of:-
1.Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross;
2. Ross, Skye and Inverness West;
3. Inverness East, Nairn and Lochaber.

A poll is also to be held for 7 members to serve in the Parliament for the Highlands and Islands Region. The Regional List may feature individual nominations as well as those of registered political parties.

The Highland Council election involves seeking nominations for the 80 electoral wards; 10 in Caithness; six in Sutherland; 18 in Ross and Cromarty; six in Skye and Lochalsh, 23 in Inverness; four in Nairn; five in Badenoch and Strathspey and eight in Lochaber.

The deadline for nominations is 4 pm on Monday 7 April. There is no withdrawal period.

Polling stations open between 7 am - 10 pm on 1 May. Those wishing to vote by post, have until 5 pm on Wednesday 23 April to register their interest with the Electoral Registration Officer.

The results of the parliamentary constituencies contests and the Regional List should be known in the early hours of Friday 2 May. The count for the Council elections will take place at eight area locations
from 2 pm on Friday 2 May.

The timetable for the elections is as follows: -
 - Nomination Papers will be made available from - Thursday 20 March
 - Close of Nominations - 4.00 pm, Monday 7 April
 - Close of Postal Votes - 5 pm, Wednesday 23 April
 - Poll - Thursday 1 May - 7.00 am - 10.00 pm
 - Parliamentary constituency results announced - 3.00 - 5 am, Friday 2 May
 - Regional List result announced - 5 am Friday 2 May
 - Council count - 2 - 5 pm Friday 2 May