N E W S F E E D S >>>

Caithness News Bulletins

Caithness.org News Index    

Front Page Archives

Caithness Sutherland & Easter Ross Election Pages

Political Information

Politics Links

Westminster Elections 2005
Three Highland UK Parliamentary Constituencies

19 April 05
A total of 21 candidates are seeking election on 5 May in the three Highland UK Parliamentary constituencies.

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross Constituency has attracted six candidates; Ross Skye and Lochaber Constituency, eight candidates; and Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey Constituency, seven candidates.

Voting takes place between 7.00 a.m. and 10 p.m. on Thursday 5 May at 283 polling stations -
76 in Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross
108 Ross Skye and Lochaber
99 in Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

The count venues are as follows:
Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross - The Assembly Rooms, Wick; Ross Skye and Lochaber - Dingwall Leisure Centre
Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey - Inverness Leisure Centre.

The Returning officer for the three constituencies is Arthur McCourt, Chief Executive of The Highland Council.

Further information on the election and previous election results are available on the council's web site: www.highland.gov.uk

Candidates in each of the three constituencies are -

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross Constituency

CAMPBELL, James Gordon Paul 9 Poles Road, Dornoch, Sutherland, IV25 3SN Independent
IVORY, Luke 2 Victoria Drive, Brora, Sutherland, KW9 6QX Scottish Socialist Party
JAMIESON, Alan William 16 Duns Crescent, Wishaw, North Lanarkshire, ML2 8SF Scottish Labour Party


ROSS, Peter Angus 25 St Thomas’s Street, Old Portsmouth, Hants, PO1 2EZ Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party Candidate
SHIRRON, Karen Ann 26 Heathryfold Drive, Aberdeen, AB16 7EB Scottish National Party (SNP)
THURSO, John Archibald Thurso East Mains, Thurso, Caithness, KW14 8HW Scottish Liberal Democrat

Ross, Skye and Lochaber Constituency

ANDERSON, Philip Andrew Broomhill, Fortrose, Ross-shire, IV10 8SH UK Independence Party
CONNIFF, Christine Mary 12 Coast, Poolewe, Ross-shire, IV22 2LR Scottish Labour Party Candidate
GRANT, Morris Fasgadh, 27 Bayne Drive, Dingwall, IV15 9UB Independent
HODGSON, John Brian Philip Kerrol Farm, Edinbane, Isle of Skye, IV51 9PW Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party
JARDINE, David Malcolm Torran, Bishop Kinkell, Conon Bridge, Ross-shire, IV7 8BW Scottish Green Party
KENNEDY, Charles Peter Caberfeidh, Lochyside, Fort William, PH33 7NX Scottish Liberal Democrats
MACLEOD, Anne Elizabeth 2 Forestry Cottages, Culloden Moor, Inverness, IV2 5EF Scottish Socialist Party

(Partaidh Soisealach Alba)

WILL, Mhairi Euphemia 5B Blackwell Avenue, Culloden, Inverness, IV2 7DY Scottish National Party (SNP)

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

ALEXANDER, Daniel Grian 32 Munro Place, Aviemore,PH22 1TE Scottish Liberal Democrats
LAWSON, Donald Sinclair Feithlinn, Dalfaber Road, Aviemore, PH22 1PV Publican Party – Free to Smoke (Pubs)
MACDONALD, George 8 Maxwell Drive, Inverness, IV3 5EX Scottish Socialist Party
(Partaidh Soisealach Alba)
MACLEOD, Donnie Kylerona Farm, Ardersier, Inverness, IV2 7QZ Scottish Green Party
ROWANTREE, Robert Iain Head Keeper’s House, Gordonbush, Brora, Sutherland, KW9 6LX Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party
STEWART, David John 8 Caulfield Park, Inverness, IV2 5GB Scottish Labour Party Candidate
THOMPSON, David George Balnafettack Farm House, Leachkin Road, Inverness, IV3 8NL Scottish National Party (SNP)

Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross
Angus Ross (Con)   Karen Shirron (SNP)  Alan Jamieson (Lab)  Luke Ivory (SSP)   John Thurso (Lib Dem)  Gordon Campbell )Ind)